PANDA Study Team

Top Row: Andreas Loepke, Dean Kurth, Kenneth E. Langen, Frank McGowan, Guohua Li, Alastair Wood
Middle Row: Charles DiMaggio, Peter Davis, Steve Hall, Santhanam Suresh, Tonya Miller, Jay Deshpande, Edmund Jooste, Caleb Ing, Radhika Dinavahi
Bottom Row: Allana Forde, Athina Kakavouli, Kimberly Noble, Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Virginia Rauh, Mary Bryne, Margaret Wood, Lena Sun, Lynne Maxwell, Jerilyn Radcliffe, Mary Huang

Columbia University will function as the the Study Coordinating Center (SCC) for the proposed study. The Research network will include all of the clinical study sites (CSS) with standing committees, three study project cores and a scientific advisory board. The Standing Committees will include the Steering Committee, the Publications and Presentations Committee and Oversight Committee. The Steering Committee will be chaired by Dr. Lena S. Sun and will include the PI for each CSS, Dr. Guohua Li, Dr. Charles DiMaggio, Dr. Alan Moskowitz, Mr. Ron Levitan, Dr. Mary Byrne, Dr. Virginia Rauh, Dr. Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Dr. Alastair Wood, Dr. Caleb Ing and Dr. Kimberly Noble. Dr. Byrne will head the Neuropsychological Testing Core, Dr. Li will be in charge of the Data Management Resource Core and Dr. Loepke will lead the Clinical Review Data Core. The Publications and Presentations Committee facilitates and supervises preparation of all abstracts, presentations, and manuscripts before submission to ensure timely preparation of high-quality presentations and publications. The Oversight Committee will be the Data Quality Monitoring and the Study Event Monitoring Committees. There will also be a Scientific Advisory Board made up of scientists who are not a part of the study but have expertise in epidemiology, pediatric neuropsychology, informatics and anesthesiology.

All of the site investigators at the different children’s hospitals bring their clinical expertise as pediatric anesthesiologists and neuropsychologists with extensive background in research to the proposed study.

  1. Boston Children’s Hospital: and Tonya Miller, MD and David Bellinger, PhD
  2. Chicago Children’s Memorial Hospital: Santhanam Suresh, MD and Frank Zelko, PhD
  3. Cincinnati Children’s Hospital: Andreas Loepke, MD, PhD and Dean Beebe, PhD
  4. Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Lynne Maxwell MD, Ari Weintraub, MD, and Jerilynn Radcliffe, PhD
  5. Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital: John Algren, MD and Tim Cooper, PsyD
  6. Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh: Peter Davis, MD, Franklyn Cladis, MD and Sue Beers, PhD
  7. University of Michigan: Shobha Malviya, MD, Alan Tait, PhD and Bruno Giordani, PhD
  8. Other investigators: Jay Deshpande, MD and Frank McGowan, MD


  1. Columbia: Mary Byrne, PhD, CPNP, MPH, FAAN
  2. Cincinnati: Dean W. Beebe, Ph.D., ABPP/CN
  3. Boston: David C. Bellinger, PhD, MSc
  4. Children's Memorial Hospital: Frank A Zelko, Ph.D.
  5. Pittsburgh: Sue Beers, PhD
  6. Children's Hospital of Philadelphia: Jerilynn Radcliffe, PhD, AABP
  7. Cynthia Salorio, Ph.D.
  8. Vanderbilt: Timothy Cooper, PsyD